Croatia Becomes a Member of the Eurozone and Schengen Area

By becoming a member of the Schengen Area, Croatia frim January 1st 2023 joined 26 other EU and EEA countries that have officially abolished all types of border control at their mutual borders, such as checking passports. Since Schengen is part of the wider EU freedom, security, and justice policy area, it mainly functions as a single jurisdiction within the framework of the common visa policy for the purposes of international travel. As of 1 January 2023, all land and sea border controls with Slovenia, Hungary, and Italy have been lifted. The borders with Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Montenegro became the Schengen Area’s external borders. Croatian international airports will be given a three-month transitional period to adjust their border controls. After the end of the transitional period, which will last until 26 March 2023, Schengen flights arriving in Croatia will no longer require passport control / border control. Travellers travelling on flights within the Schengen Area, but originating from third countries, must undergo a Schengen entry border control upon their arrival in the Schengen Area because the authorities at the final destination in the Schengen Area would not be able to distinguish between arriving travellers who boarded at the point of departure and those who joined mid-journey. In addition, travellers must pass the Schengen exit border control when leaving the Schengen Area.


Road distance between Dubrovnik and some European towns

Amsterdam1920 km
Athens1190 km
Belgrade520 km
Berlin1660 km
Bratislava870 km
Bruxelles1870 km
Bucharest1080 km
Budapest800 km
Copenhagen1870 km
Istanbul1270 km
London2180 km
Ljubljana725 km
Paris1950 km
Podgorica150 km
Praha1280 km
Madrid2670 km
Munich1135 km
Rome420 km (link by boat)
Sarajevo250 km
Skopje490 km
Sofia680 km
Tirana320 km
Vienna880 km
Warsaw1440 km
Zagreb450 km
Zurich870 km

Usefull Links


  • cadlab
  • perfectmeetings